Alex’s Destiny (Defender’s Blood #1) by A.K. Michaels

Alex's Destiny (Defender's Blood, #1)Alex’s Destiny by A.K. Michaels

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this book in exchange for an honest review (LoP or Lovers of Paranormal)

Rate: 4.5 stars

I wouldn’t be surprised if this will become a bestseller. The author sure knows how to incorporate her characters in an intricate plot that involves almost all creatures of paranormal. This is like a mashup of Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey, which makes it more interesting for adult fans of Paranormal. The sensual and exotic parts are definitely the thing that’s missing with the Twilight series. The book has so many characters and at first I almost got lost in knowing who’s who but as I read on, I begin to accept the fact that everyone has his/her own part to play and they are essential to make the story as good as it is. Personally, it would have been great if Alex has her own powers (not just special blood, which is kinda bland).

The reason I’ve given this 4.5 stars is that there are some annoying parts that I can’t help but notice. One of this is when the portal is closed, the story begins to progress rapidly, and I mean RAPIDLY. I can’t help but feel it was written that way just to finish the book. Another is there are some unnecessary scenes, which I think the book will progress nicely with or without it. (Ex. Scene with the pilot)

Overall, the plot is definitely something and it really makes up for the bad. I would definitely watch out for the rest of this series and I would highly recommend this to adult paranormal fans.

View all my reviews

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

